Magento Support: Modifying Categories

Modifying Categories in Magento

After a category is established, it can be edited, moved to another position in the category tree, or deleted from the catalog. However, if your catalog is live, you should consider how the change might impact any existing links to products in the category. For example, if your product URLs include the category path, and the category name is changed, any existing links to products in the category will be broken. To avoid this problem, you can configure your catalog to automatically create a permanent redirect if the URL key changes. You can also use the URL Rewrite tool to redirect traffic from an old URL to a new one.

To move a category:

  1. On the Admin menu, select Catalog > Manage Categories.
  2. To move a category, simply drag-and-drop it to a new location. Category order changes are saved automatically.

To delete a category:

  1. On the Admin menu, select Catalog > Manage Categories.
  2. Click to select the category you want to delete.
    A deleted category cannot be restored, so make sure that you have selected the correct category before proceeding.
  3. Click the Delete Category button to save your changes.

Topics in the Category section:

If you have any questions about using or upgrading to Magento, or even converting to responsive design for your existing website, do not hesitate to contact us.